My Heart Breaks

I found out this morning that a friend had passed away. I have known Todd since high school, although he was a few years older than me. He was my protector, my friend, my big brother. He kept me out of trouble – even put me in the trunk of his car once – only to keep me out of trouble!! LOL! He helped me through a lot of bad stuff.

We lost touch over the years and only recently – thanks to Facebook – did I find him again. And it was wonderful reconnecting with him, reminiscing, filling each other in about our families and new lives. He told me how proud of me he was (that I had turned out fairly normal). Even after 10+ years had passed, we had a special bond. I couldn’t wait to see him again and get one of his massive hugs. But, now, he’s gone… and that will never happen.

A heart attack took him away in his sleep while camping with a friend. A heart attack at the age of 37. Something nobody expects. I feel awful for his wife and son, what they must be going through. I cannot imagine losing my husband.

At least he died in his sleep…

Leave a Reply

