Still Trying

Another cycle has come and gone. It has now officially been one YEAR that we have been trying to conceive. I guess this is payback for being such a fertile myrtle.

I used Clomid last cycle. The low dose: 50mg a day for 5 days. I added in OTC progesterone cream from GNC. This didn’t work. I didn’t get pregnant. I was completely bummed. I got pregnant the first time I used Clomid back in October, so Clomid had become a wonder drug to me. I was sure I would get pregnant on it this time. But, it didn’t happen. I did everything right. I took my temps, I baby danced from CD10 on, I used OPKs and faithfully took my folic acid and baby aspirin. And it didn’t work 😦

The day my temp dropped, I cried. I don’t understand why I had no problems getting pregnant for years and now I can’t seem to get pregnant or stay a pregnant. What changed? I’m not that much older. And every month that passes that I don’t get pregnant, I get more desperate. I’m even considering taking injections!! Not yet though…

I went to the OB today and she upped my Clomid to 100mg per day. She finally listened to me when I told her how short my luteal phase was and that it was only 10 days this last cycle even using the OTC progesterone, she gave me prescription strength progesterone!!!

My next problem was that I don’t seem to make fertile mucous anymore. I used to. I haven’t seen any in MONTHS. I’ve tried evening primrose oil, that didn’t seem to help. So, she told me to try Robitussin. YUCK!!! That tastes disgusting, but I’ll try it.

She also told me to try baby dancing with a pillow under my hips. I usually put the pillow there after we baby dance. But, she said to put it there before we baby dance. Ooook, sure why not?

Finally, I asked what’s next? What happens if the Clomid doesn’t work? She tried to be reassuring and told me that she thinks I ovulate, she just thinks I need time. So, I said something about only being able to take Clomid for 3-6 months, which is what I’ve read online. She said that isn’t the case anymore, that they now know Clomid is safe and as long as I go in every month to have my ovaries checked (and that they’re not overstimulated), I can take Clomid as  long as I want. This was the first time I had heard this.

If I try Clomid for a w hile and decide to go to the next step… it’s a referral out to a RE and probably injections. We don’t want to do IVF. We have already been blessed with four beautiful children.

Oh, and I threw that stupid shiny thermometer out – well, I put it away – it caused too much stress in the past few cycles. My temps were always up and down and never dipped when it was supposed to dip. So, I’m DONE with it. I will still take the OPKs so I know when I’m ovulating, but no more temps!!

1 Comment »

  1. Jennifer Said:

    Sending Baby dust your way. Good luck on the treatment and I wish you and yours the best. I wish my Doctor would listen to me and start treating me for my issues it has been hard to get them to treat me for what they know is wrong with me. 3 miscarriages later you figure they would get a clue.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

