The “What’s Wrong With Me?” Saga

Let’s see, where did I leave off? I had the miscarriage November 15th. The OB did blood work and found those 2 copies of the mutation (MTHFR) and the positive ANA. She told me to go see an internal medicine doctor to figure out the ANA stuff.

So, I did. I went last Monday to see this new doctor. I wasn’t crazy about spending my Christmas vacation at the doctor’s office. Especially with the 30 minute wait in the waiting room, a smaller wait in the exam room, and a doctor who seemed like she was in a rush and wanted me desperately to have a flu shot (which I repeatedly said NO to). She didn’t say anything when she examined me, so I ASSUME she didn’t find anything. She asked me if I had any symptoms which I kept answering NO to (how many times does she have to ask? The answer isn’t going to change). She then decided to do more blood work and send me to a Rheumatologist. Great!! More doctors!!

Off I went downstairs to the lab, only to find out they didn’t have anywhere for me to lie down. I even asked if I could lie on the couch in the waiting room? Or the floor? They answered, “Oh no, we can’t have that!!” Well, why not? If you draw my blood while I’m sitting in a chair, I’ll end up on the floor anyway. They told me I’d have to go to a different lab… which was conveniently located down the road a few miles… and across the street from a mall (which I didn’t know until I was begging the traffic to MOVE – keep in mind, this was December 22nd!!!). If I had known that, I would have found another lab. I ended up getting my blood drawn for the 5th time in a month. I was not a happy camper.

Two days later, on Christmas Eve, I get a phone call from the doctor’s office saying the doctor wanted to see me sometime that week to discuss my blood test results. The conversation went as follows:
Me: How about Friday?
Doctor’s office: That won’t work for us.
Me: (thinking how the next day is Christmas, how am I supposed to get in THAT week) Monday?
Doctor’s office: Of next week?
Me: (of course next week!!! I’m not waiting longer than that!!!): Yes.

So, I have my appointment set for tomorrow afternoon and I have been worrying since Christmas Eve. Worrying about Cancer, about dying, about something untreatable. What could it be that they had to call me Christmas Eve to ask me to come in? What will my four little girls do without their mother? And what about the fact that my OB told me it was okay to try and get pregnant again? What if I already am?

Please pray for me, that the test results aren’t too bad, that it’s not something incurable or untreatable. Please pray that all will be okay and I’ll live a LONG life.

Leave a Reply

