Twilight

Michael and I went to see Twilight this weekend. Not that you asked, but here are my thoughts on the movie:

Overall, it was a great movie. If you haven’t read the book, you’d like it, understand it and come out probably wanting to read them. If you have read the book, well, you might be a little disappointed. They pretty much ruined the meadow scene. It was easily one of the best scenes in the book. I wonder whose call that was. Loved seeing Stephenie Meyer in the movie – even for a split second. I loved the Cullen family, loved watching them interact, but they weren’t in the movie enough! I know they had to squish hundreds of pages into 2 hours, but I wish they could have made it longer. I wish they had put more into it. I’m hoping the DVD will have deleted scenes and maybe New Moon will be longer.

Loved the scenery. Looked like what I pictured in my head except for the meadow. Where the heck was the meadow??? The rest looked great! I actually liked the kissing scene. It was intense. I liked when Bella met the Cullen family. The baseball scene was great, but too short. It was neat to watch the fight scene come alive. One of my favorite scenes is when Alice smells Bella’s blood and needs Carlisle to take over.

Onto the characters:

Kristen Stewart *looks* like I pictured Bella. She’s a good actress, but not great. I expected to see a girl completely IN LOVE. I didn’t see that until the end. I didn’t see her SMILE. If you’re in love with a guy, wouldn’t you smile a little?

Robert Pattinson – I didn’t think I’d like him, but I did. He won me over. He didn’t seem like the Edward in the book though. That Edward was perfect. This Edward seemed nervous.

Ashley Greene – LOVED her. Loved her voice, loved her hair. She is a great fit. But, she didn’t get a big enough part!!!! I want MORE Alice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jackson Rathbone – Another good actor in a small part. LOVED his look… trying so hard NOT to drink Bella’s blood. The big round eyes that seemed like they were watering as he restrained himself – perfect. But, they never mentioned his gift, his talent. What’s up with that?

Kellen Lutz – Perfect overprotective, teddy bear brother. Good choice for Emmett!

Nikki Reed – Beautiful Rosalie!!! She played the part well. LOVED her!! But, again, she hardly got any time.

Elizabeth Reaser – Not someone I see as maternal. But, her part was so small in the movie, I didn’t have a chance to see her acting maternal.

Peter Facinelli – Cute, kinda young for a fatherly figure and a doctor. And he is a real life father!!! Guess he just looks young. I liked his small part, wished it could be more.

Taylor Lautner – Hot choice for Jacob and another very small part. Can’t wait to see more of him. He looks like a perfect fit!!

Billy Burke – Not bad as Bella’s Dad. Not what I pictured, but he was good.

Cam Gigandet – Scary… hot, I would like him if he was a good guy. Very good actor. Love the whole close eyes, roll eyes, sniff… mmmmm.

Rachelle Lefevre – LOVED her! Scary, beautiful, really wanted to like her… too bad she’s one of the bad vampires.

Now, in watching tons of interviews and behind the scenes stuff – I have found that certain actors are very articulate and intelligent while others – well, they just aren’t. Rachelle Lefevre and Nikki Reed are awesome. I love watching their interviews; they are really into the movie. But, when I watch Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson I am disappointed. They constantly say “Um…” or “Uhhh…” They have mentioned how they didn’t realize what they were getting into and admitted to not reading the books. If I got picked for a role like one in Twilight, I would read all the books so not only would I know exactly what I was getting into, but I would know the character better.

It’s definitely worth seeing the movie. I’d like to see it again. I can’t wait to buy the DVD. I am also thrilled they are making New Moon into a movie.

2 Comments »

  1. junecleaverwouldbeshocked Said:

    AMEN to all of the above. But WHERE was Stephenie in the movie? And how did I miss that?!

    I could kick Kristen for not reading the books. No wonder her acting was so pitiful – you can’t really ‘get’ Bella unless you’ve read the book. Dingbat.

  2. wishingstar97 Said:

    She was sitting at the bar type area at the diner (I think it was the second time Charlie and Bella were eating there). It was just a quick shot. But, ANYONE who knew who she was, would know who she was 😀 Silly!!!! I can’t believe you missed her!

    I just finished watching Kristen Stewart on David Letterman (taped from last week) and she said she’s read the first book now. And I watched Robert Pattinson on Ellen and he said he lived in London and was unaware of the popularity of these books.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

