Lovebugs

I don’t like lovebugs. In fact, I’ll go as far to say I *HATE* lovebugs. I’m not scared of them like I am of bees. But, I can’t stand them. I had never heard of them until we moved here. I experienced my first lovebug “attack” as I was driving down the highway and all of a sudden BOOM BOOM BOOM, they were splattering all over my windshield. EW! I didn’t know much about lovebugs, so I didn’t realize that I should go through a car wash as soon as possible. A week later, it was miserable trying to get them off.

The next time love bugs came back out earlier this year, I did a little research. I found this which made my stomach churn: The male and female attach themselves at the rear of the abdomen and remain that way at all times, even in flight. In fact, after mating, the male dies and is dragged around by the female until she lays her eggs. This is from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Love_bug

So, these bugs are ATTACHED as they fly around. Just EW!!!! They don’t sting, they don’t bite, but they do land on you while ATTACHED!!!!

If you ever move to the Gulf Coast… watch out! And don’t wear white!!!

2 Comments »

  1. Emilie Said:

    Ew. I think it’s grosser that the female drags around a dead body all the time.

    .. Why can’t you wear white?

  2. wishingstar97 Said:

    They are attracted to white (and other very light colors).


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

