School is back in session

My baby started middle school yesterday. I’ve been dreading the day for so long. She’s still so naive and immature. And here she goes, full speed into a new and scary place. She has a locker, a top locker at that. And she’s so little. She can hardly seen the numbers on her lock. But, she doesn’t want a bottom locker. She wants the top.

She has 8 classes: reading, language arts, math, science, world culture, advisory, gym and orchestra. She chose to play the viola. That should be interesting. I’m not sure I’m ready for the screeching when she practices.

So far she has made it through 2 days with no major issues. As for me, my nerves are calming down, but haven’t vanished. I remember middle school. I learned a lot in those few years. Things I wasn’t ready for. I experimented with new things, had new feelings, fell “in love” for the first time, had my first real kiss, and got in my first fight with my best friend. I’m sure all these things will be happening for her soon… I know I need to be ready for it, but I’m just not sure I am.

On top of KRJ starting middle school and KBJ starting 2nd grade, my little JKJ started Kindergarten. What a bittersweet time. I’ve been worried about her. I’m not sure she’s emotionally ready for it. She did go to preschool last year, she is pretty smart, but she’s very clingy and very cranky. She told me she loves her teacher and that she made a friend!!! Yay!!! I can only hope the year goes smoothly for her and I didn’t make a mistake putting her in. It is all downhill from here. Once they start school, the potty mouth starts, the attitude starts and it’s never the same.

If only I had the patience and brains to homeschool…

1 Comment »

  1. Dee Said:

    Home School? Oh honey. Not for me either. I can nto even do Homework. COuld not take them all day long everyday.
    I agree about the mouth. They are in a whole new world at school.
    I am not at the middle school thing yet with Stephanie. next year. So I am grateful for that one.

    GL
    Love ya!
    Dee


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

